top of page
  • Writer's pictureRuthLynette

The ONLY Cutout Sugar Cookie Recipe You’ll Ever Need

Sugar cookie perfection. On my honor.

I’m even willing to bet all the ingredients are already in your pantry. And it’s painfully simple- there’s NO chilling. NO dough spreading: your intricate cutouts keep their shape and you can sandwich those beauties right next to each other on your cookie sheet (anyone else go crazy placing cookies “two inches apart” and fitting approximately three on one

cookie sheet?? Yeah, no thanks).


Oh, and the taste- I’m gluten and dairy intolerant (I wasn’t always; that’s a post for another day) but I cannot help but sneak a bite of one of these cookies warm out of the oven.

I’m pretty sure they’re what snack time in Heaven tastes like.


My only recipe tips here- don’t mess with perfection (follow as written and you should be happy!), and you may double the recipe with the forewarning that your dough will BARELY fit in a standard @kitchenaidusa mixer bowl😅


DIRECTIONS:

- Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

- Prepare your cookie sheet: Nonstick or parchment lined (I also love using a @mysilpat mat) As written, recipe yields 1-2 dozen med/large cookies


-1 C salted sweet cream butter, at room temperature (if your butter is unsalted: add 1/2 tsp salt to the recipe) - 1 C sugar

-1 egg

- 1 1/4 Tbsp vanilla extract

- 2 tsp baking powder

- 3 C AP flour, leveled

- Optional: a few drops of almond extract (if you’re not a fan of almond extract, don’t worry- you won’t really taste it at this amount, but I do think its addition contributes to the depth of flavor)


- With a hand or stand mixer, cream together butter, sugar, egg, extract(s). Add dry ingredients and mix again.

- Roll dough out onto a lightly floured surface. I recommend thick (3/8”) cookies.

- Place and bake- you can place these very closely next to each other on your cookie sheet as they keep their shape well without spreading!

- Bake 7-8 minutes (browned edges mean cookies are overdone).

- Cool completely before frosting, if desired. Enjoy!


(Store well for up to two weeks in a sealed container. They also freeze very well!)


(I’ll share my marbling & frosting techniques in a future post!❤️)

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page