top of page
  • Writer's pictureRuthLynette

(Quarantine) Self Care

Moms are good at a lot of things.

Self care doesn’t usually top the list- and that goes for life on a normal basis, let alone during a pandemic.


I’ve struggled more than usual with the allowance for self care during this quarantine time, the reasoning multifactorial (and maybe a little faulty, but feelings are neither right nor wrong, right?)


I may preach never to play the comparison game, but that doesn’t mean I don’t struggle with feelings of ineptitude when I see social media posts touting whole home reorganization and I’m just trying to keep my littles from unfolding my laundry pile for a third time.


And then there’s the fact I’m not using my medical license right now- that’s not to say that I haven’t put my time in saving lives on front lines, but I’ve been struggling with a certain sense of “survivor’s guilt” watching my colleagues battle it out on the front lines. I don’t doubt God’s timing calling me to stay home with my babies during this period and a diagnosis with an immune deficiency, but it’s still hard to feel... useless.


So taking a timeout for any amount of self care has felt wrong... until I inevitably start to feel like a hamster running in a wheel, don’t know what day it is, and start blowing my very short fuse with every member of the household.


Self care isn’t selfish; taking care of you takes care of everyone.


Also- with all of the uncertainty in our world at present, be reassured WHATEVER you’re feeling right now is normal. And remind yourself that our God is still unchanging. In the words of #cslewis, “Courage, dear heart.”

A few moments daily for self care can make a world of difference-

Here are a few ideas!💛


 

* Write it down! Journal, write whatever your feeling or whatever comes to mind. Make a list of things you’re thankful for.

* Light a candle: I love the instant mood a candle creates, and aromatherapy does double soothing duty! Find my all natural faves here: @soygoodcandle_co -



* Apply a facial! Nothing says self care like some soothing goop on your face (I’m obsessed with all things cucumber). Available @ultabeauty, @sephora, and @amazon -

*Let’s not forget the hair: one of my new favorite indulgences become applying a hair mask. Nothing boosts hydration like hyaluronic acid- and this Heavenly Hydrating Masque is truly a dream! Snag it here; your hair will thank you (it’s vegan, too!)- https://jadeschneider4.mymonat.com/heavenly-hydrating-masque/



* Go for a walk or a hike.

* Brew some tea.

* Do (or learn) yoga- there are poses for every level!

* Get a tan! A fake bake, that is— indulge in a little self pampering with a foaming tanner for a streak-free glow. I’m addicted to this one (no stink, natural color, and it’s full of vitamins C and E to nourish your skin!)

* Read a book/magazine.

* Send a card to a loved one.

* Take a nap!

* Bake (&eat) cookies.


* Color! Not just for kids- studies have proven this a stress reliever for adults, too! I love this $6.95 steal on @amazon -


* Paint your nails. (The BEST polish ever: @staticnailsofficial lacquer actually looks, lasts like gel!) https://staticnails.com/collections/liquid-glass-lacquer


* Make & use your own sugar scrub: combine 2C brown sugar + 1C soft but solid coconut oil. Blend in a mixer/food processor. Optional: add a few drops vanilla or your favorite essential oil. Store in an airtight container for up to several months (if you can make it last that long!).

* Pray/meditate.

* Play your fave music.

* Take a bubble bath.

* Put on makeup- who cares if you’re not going anywhere?! A little swipe of lipstick can go a long way for the psyche. My current fave:

* Laugh. Watch a comedy.

* Hug a person or pet.

* Get a massage (one of my most prized possessions: Brookstone Cordless Shiatsu Massager with Heat)

*Treat yourself- AND support a small business (many are hurting right now!) A few are listed in the ides above- but here are a few more of my favorites!



  • @thetiedyehippie (sister team of artists- basically alllll the tie dye you see my kids and I wear!)- www.thetiedyehippie.com







 

Tag YOUR small business or one you would like to support in comments, AND and your ideas for self care! Stay safe everyone- 💗xo, Ruth

 

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tides

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page